Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story? I’ve heard both positive and negative answers to this question, and both parties were trying to prove their stance logically. Quick answer, Instagram doesn’t notify the person of whose story you’ve taken a screenshot of.
If not, why is this confusion between us? There are two probable reasons:
1. People are Confusing Instagram with Snapchat
Snapchat, another popular social media platform, notifies the users when someone takes a screenshot or records the screen of their stories. When something like this is done, Snapchat sends them a direct notification stating the ID of the person taking the screenshot.
There’s a fair bit of chance that people are actually confusing Instagram with Snapchat.
2. Instagram Used to Notify in the Past
Did you know that Instagram used to notify a few years back? Yes! Just a couple of years ago, Instagram actually used to notify the user if someone else had taken a screenshot of their story or captured a screen recording of their story.
Back in that time, if you had screenshotted someone else’s story, Instagram used to send a notification stating that if you take another screenshot, that person would be notified.
However, that person wasn’t notified as directly as Snapchat. There’s a feature on Instagram that allows you to see who saw your stories, and it can be viewed by clicking the ‘Seen by’ option.
In that list, there used to be a star right next to the people who had taken a screenshot, and this is how Instagram used to notify if someone had taken a screenshot of a story.
Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story?
No, it doesn’t. The feature that was used to notify was closed down. However, that doesn’t mean that Instagram won’t re-establish this feature again. When asked about it, Instagram simply replied that if this was notified, it was hampering the privacy of the person taking the screenshot.
Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Post/ Newsfeed?
No, you can screenshot any photo or video posted by others, and they won’t receive any notification for doing so. However, taking the screenshot of a post or a video is very clunky on Instagram. A better way of keeping the post saved is by bookmarking it.
On the bottom right of every post, you’ll find a bookmark icon. Upon clicking this icon, the post will be bookmarked, and they will appear in the ‘Saved’ tab of your Instagram profile.
However, it must be noted that the bookmark will disappear automatically if the original post is deleted.
Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Vanishing Photo/ Video?
Yes, it does, but only in the case of disappearing pictures or videos.
A disappearing photo or video is the one that you have to take through the basic app of Instagram, and upon sending it will be deleted after it’sbeen viewed once. If another person sends you a disappearing picture or video in your dms, taking a screenshot of that or record that will notify the sender.
However, if you send something through the ‘direct messages’ from your phone’s gallery, it won’t be considered as a disappearing photo or video, and if a screenshot of that is taken, the sender won’t be notified.
That’s why Instagram always suggests that you send any sensitive content directly through their app as disappearing content, as it will be much safer in that case.
However, people have already found out several ways of bypassing this security. Here are the methods:
1. Using Airplane Mode
If someone sends you a disappearing content and if you want to take a screenshot of that, click on the content first. Once it opens, slide up the settings of your phone, and turn the ‘Airplane Mode’ on. Once the airplane mode is on, take the screenshot.
Don’t turn the ‘Airplane Mode’ off yet. Close the Instagram app from the task manager. Once it’s completely closed, turn the ‘Airplane Mode’ back on again.
This process will make sure that the sender won’t receive any notifications even though you have taken a screenshot.
2. Using a Web Browser
Instagram isn’t much optimized for web browsers. In fact, it doesn’t even allow the users to post any pictures or videos from the web browser. That’s why most of the people prefer using Instagram with a mobile device.
However, web browsers can come in handy when you need to take a screenshot of disappearing content. Instagram doesn’t even keep track of this, and you can take a snap easily with the help of the ‘Snipping Tool.’
3. Using Another Camera
This one’s obvious. If you want to keep a record of the content sent to you, you can either take a picture of it, or you can record it using another phone. This won’t notify the sender. However, beware that the quality will be the worst in this method.
A Word of Advice
If someone has sent you a sensitive content, you shouldn’t take a screenshot of that, nor should you keep any record of the content sent to you. This will only initiate mistrust. Rather, you should respect the sender’s decision and keep the trust the sender gave you.
Beware of Third-Party Apps
Don’t download any third-party apps that claim to take screenshots without notifying the sender. These types of apps are either outdated, or they’re a pure scam. These types of apps typically steal the personal information of the user, and they don’t provide any benefit either.
If you’ve already downloaded apps of this sort, remove them instantly, and change all of your passwords as soon as possible.
Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story? No. It used to, but now it doesn’t. The only case where the sender will be notified is if a screenshot of a disappearing content is taken. So, there shouldn’t be anything keeping you from taking screenshots of every story that fancy you!